A relatively unknown rule pushes the Bulls to a win, but it's a rule that I think should be reviewed and knocked out of the game.
Here's the rule: any shot with 3/10ths of a second or less on the clock, cannot be caught and shot, it has to be a tip in.
Florida Gulf Coast had the ball with .3 left on the clock -- the pass covered the length of the court and the shot went in -- and here is why I think the rule will be removed or rewritten. When you still frame the video, the Eagles got the shot off before the red light went on, so there was still time on the clock.
But instead of a game-tying double overtime shot, it was game over.
USF Coach Stan Heath went over to start shaking hands, and the officials hit the television monitors to get another look at the play. I don't think they were looking at when he got the shot off, I think the refs were just looking to see if Chase Fieler caught the ball instead of tipping it -- and he did, so game over.
It's still a rule that needs to be changed though. I know the intent of the rule is a good idea. The thinking is at .3 there isn't enough time for a player to catch it, turn and get the shot off. But that's what Florida Gulf Coast did at the end of double overtime.
Neither coach had a problem with it. Both know the rule and both knew it wasn't going to count. I can tell you this, USF Head Coach Stan Heath will always remember the win because he picks it up on his 49th birthday.
FOX 13 / WTVT-TV 3213 West Kennedy Blvd. Tampa, Florida 33609 Main: (813) 876-1313 Newsroom: (813) 870-9630 Fax: (813) 871-3135