Where do Florida lawmakers stand on 'Stand your Ground' law? - FOX 13 News

Where do Florida lawmakers stand on 'Stand your Ground' law?

Posted: Updated:
TAMPA (FOX 13) -

We asked every Florida lawmaker: Do you support the Stand your Ground law, or would you like to review, change, or repeal it? Here are the responses we received.

Support as is:

Rep. Dennis K. Baxley (R)

Rep. Greg Steube (R)

Rep. Dana Young (R)

Rep. Jake Raburn (R)

Rep. Jimmie Smith (R)

Rep. Cary Pigman (R)

Rep. Neil Combee (R)

Rep. Mike Fasano (R)

Rep. Jim Boyd (R)

Rep. Ray Rodrigues (R)

Rep. Carl Zimmermann (D)

Rep. Dane Eagle (R)

Rep. Charles Van Zant (R)

Rep. Ross Spano (R)

Rep. Carlos Trujillo (R)

Rep. Manny Diaz (R)

Rep. John Tobia (R)

Rep. Halsey Beshears (R)

Rep. David Santiago (R)

Rep. Mike Hill (R)

Rep. Elizabeth Porter (R)

Rep. Debbie Mayfield (R)

Rep. Keith Perry (R) (but open to review)

Rep. Ronald 'Doc' Renuart (R)

Rep. Jimmy Patronis (R)

Rep. Steve Crisafulli (R)

Rep. Larry Ahern (R)

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R)

Rep. Dan Raulerson (R) (but open to review)

Rep. Ritch Workman (R)

Rep. John Wood (R)


Sen. David Simmons (R)

Sen. Wilton Simpson (R)

Sen. Bill Galvano (R)

Sen. Greg Evers (R)

Sen. Rene Garcia (R )

Sen. Kelli Stargel (R)

Sen. President Don Gaetz (R)

Sen. Thad Altman (R)

Sen. Jack Latvala (R)

Sen. Miguel Diaz de la Portilla (R)

Sen. Rob Bradley (R)

Sen. Aaron Bean (R)

Sen. John Legg (R) (but open to review)

Sen. Jeff Brandes (R) (but open to review)



Rep. Mike Clelland (D)

Rep. Ricardo Rangel (D)

Rep. Dwight R. Dudley (D)

Rep. Jared E. Moskowitz (D)

Rep David Richardson (D)

Rep. Michelle Rehwinkle Vasilinda (D)

Sen. Darren Soto (D)


Change or Repeal:

Rep. Randolph Bracy (D)

Rep. Perry Thurston (D)

Rep. Hazelle P. Rogers (D)

Rep. Joe Saunders (D)

Rep. Dwayne L. Taylor (D)

Rep. Clovis Watson, Jr. (D)

Rep. Irv Slosberg (D)

Rep. Elaine Schwartz (D)

Rep. Mia L. Jones (D)

Rep. Kevin Rader (D)

Rep. Karen Castor Dentel (D)

Rep. Darryl E. Rouson (D)

Rep. Larry Lee Jr. (D).

Rep. Victor Torres, Jr (D)

Rep. Janet Cruz (D)

Rep. Alan Williams (D)

Rep. Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed (D)

Rep. Joe Gibbons (D)

Rep. Mark Pafford (D)

Rep. Shevrin Jones (D)

Rep. Cynthia Stafford (D)

Rep. Betty Reed (D)

Rep. Lori Berman (D)

Rep. Bruce Antone (D)

Rep. Jim Waldman (D)

Rep. Barbara Watson (D)

Rep. Richard Stark (D)


Sen. Dwight Bullard (D)

Sen. Eleanor Sobel (D)

Sen. Arthenia Joyner (D)

Sen. Alan Hays* (R) (tweak current language but not repeal)

Sen. Geraldine Thompson (D)

Sen. Gwen Margolis (D)

Sen. Audrey Gibson (D) (There is no category for review and change and that is what I support.)

Sen. Chris Smith (D)

Sen. Jeremy Ring (D)


Would not answer:

Rep. James Grant (R)

Rep. Matt Caldwell (R)


Call a special session on civil rights?


Rep. Alan Williams (D)

Rep. Hazelle Rogers (D)

Rep. Darryl Rouson (D) (if done during regularly scheduled committee week)

Rep. Janet Cruz (D) (yes, if it includes Medicaid)

Rep. Randolph Bracy (D)

Rep. Kevin Rader (D)

Rep. Clovis Watson (D) (for session on stand your ground)

Rep. Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed (D)

Rep. Irving Slosberg (D)

Rep. Cynthia Stafford (D)

Rep. James Waldman (D)



Sen. Alan Hays (R)

Rep. Mike Clelland (R)

Rep. Kathleen Peters (R)

Rep. Mike Fasano (R)

Rep. Greg Steube (R)

Rep. Larry Ahern (R)

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R)

Rep. Janet Adkins (R)

Rep. Neil Combee (R)

Rep. Dane Eagle (R)

Rep. Matt Caldwell (R)

Rep. Cary Pigman (R) (on active duty & could not participate in special session)

Rep. Ray Rodriguez (R)

Rep. John Tobia (R)

Rep. Marti Coley (R)

Rep. Ritch Workman (R)

Rep. Jim Boyd (R)

Rep. Carl Zimmermann (D) (no, unless it were to address Medicaid)


Powered by WorldNow

3213 West Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, Florida 33609
Main: (813) 876-1313
Newsroom: (813) 870-9630
Fax: (813) 871-3135

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices